What’s New at the Strand

From the Associated Press: The Strand publishes lost William Faulkner Play
Click here for the full story

From the Associated Press: The Strand publishes lost F. Scott Fitzgerald Story
Click here for the full story

Laura Lippman ties with Megan Abbott for the Strand Magazine’s Critics Award for Best Novel (Comments)

“As one of Megan Abbott’s biggest fans, I was happily, hopefully expecting her to take the Strand Award for best novel of 2014. We had joked about it much of the day, via Twitter, while one of our mutual friends staunchly predicted a tie. When it actually happened, I truly wondered if it were a dream. Crime fiction is so varied today, wonderfully so, that a tie reflects how hard it is to say what best represents the genre. Sharing a award with a friend I consider one of the shining lights of crime fiction was truly special.”

Megan Abbott ties with Laura Lippman for the Strand Magazine’s Critics Award for Best Novel (Comments)
“I couldn’t be more honored and thrilled to be a part of this grand crime fiction tradition. And to share this award with the extraordinary Laura Lippman, whose work is a constant inspiration, makes it all the sweeter. Thank you!”

Elizabeth Little wins the Strand Critics Award for Best First Novel (Comments)
“I wouldn’t be a mystery writer if I weren’t also an avid and ardent mystery reader, so it was almost unbearably thrilling to win an award presented by The Strand, which means so much to me, and to the mystery community at large, and to share a stage with Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman, two writers I admire to such an extent that I fear I probably acted a bit silly around them. It was a very, very special night for me—and a real honor.”

Another unpublished Tennessee Williams short story appears in the Strand Magazine…

Max Allan Collins wins the Shamus Award for “So Long, Chief” which was first published in the Strand!

Breaking News From the AP:
“With Your Wings”
A never before published short story by John Steinbeck in the Strand!


The Strand’s top Books of 2014
1. The Skin Collector by Jeffery Deaver (Hachette)
2. Suspicion by Joseph Finder (Dutton)
3. Wolf Winter by Cecilia Ekbäck (Weinstein Books)
4. The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah (William Morrow)
5. Blue Labyrinth by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child (Grand Central)
6. The Cairo Affair by Olen Steinhauer (Minotaur)
7. Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes (Mulholland Books)
8. Terminal City by Linda Fairstein (Dutton)
9. After I’m Gone by Laura Lippman (William Morrow)
10. The Accident by Chris Pavone (Crown)

Lauren Beukes and Roger Hobbs win the Strand Awards
Click here for more info

Breaking news from the Associated Press:
An Unpublished Joseph Heller story in the Strand!

Order a copy!

Critics Award news:
William Landay wins the top prize for Defending Jacob and Matthew Quirk wins the best first novel award for The 500.william-landay-faye-Kellerman-matthew-quirk
More Photos from the Critics Awards

Deaver Nominated!
Jeffery Deaver has been nominated for a Shamus award for best short story for “The Sequel” which was first published in the Strand.

The Strand Magazine launches a major new blog!
With contributions from bestselling authors such as Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child, Michael Palmer, R.L.Stine, book reviews, film reviews, articles, fiction, and much more. mysterycenter

The Strand is on the Apple Newsstand

And the Strand Critics Awards Nominees Are…Faye Kellerman wins the Lifetime Achievement Award

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Faye Kellerman

Best Novel
The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye (Putnam)
Broken Harbor by Tana French (Viking)
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (Crown)
Defending Jacob by William Landay (Delacorte Press)
Live by Night by Dennis Lehane (William Morrow)

Best Debut Novel
A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash (William Morrow)
The Yard by Alex Grecian (Putnam)
The Expats by Chris Pavone (Crown)
Disappeared by Anthony Quinn (Mysterious Press/Open Road)
The 500 by Matthew Quirk (Reagan Arthur Books)

Breaking news from the Associated Press: An Unpublished Robert Louis Stevenson Essay published in the Strand!

No Rest for the Dead raises over a quarter of a million dollars for cancer research!

Special Fiction Issue Coming Out Soon
Fiction by Elmore Leonard, John Gilstrap, Max Allan Collins, Michael Humfrey, Robert Lopresti, Jon Land, & Jonathan Santlofer. Plus an article by a literary legend…

The Strand Magazine App is Live
Click here for more info

Ray Bradbury’s last story in the Strand?

Click here for the AP story

Jeffery Deaver in the Strand
With a brand new short story titled, “The Sequel”.

2012-16The Verdict is In..
Joseph Finder and George Pelecanos tie for The Strand Critics Award for Best Novel and Rosamund Lupton wins for Best First Novel. John Sandford and Joseph Wambaugh are honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Ray Bradbury Remembered
Andrew Gulli interviewed Ray three years ago and we’ve included a link to the full text of the interview Click here

Strand Story nominated
The ITW (International Thriller Writers), has nominated “Anything to Win” as one of their top five best short stories of 2011.

And the nominees are…

The Strand Magazine has announced its nominees for the 2011 Strand Magazine Critics Awards. Recognizing excellence in the field of mystery fiction, the Critics Awards were judged by a select group of book critics and journalists, from news venues such as USA Today, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and several other daily papers.

For the fourth time in as many years bestselling author Michael Connelly was nominated for best novel (The Drop). The rest of the nominees Lee Child, Joseph Finder, P.D. James, and George Pelecanos are making their debut as best novel finalists.

Also, Joseph Wambaugh and John Sandford will be given The Strand’s Lifetime Achievement award for excellence in crime and thriller writing. Wambaugh has achieved worldwide fame for bestselling novels such as The New Centurions (1971), Blue Knight (1972), and is credited with transforming the police drama genre into serious literature. John Sandford with scores of novels in the space of nearly a quarter of a century, he stands out as one of the most successful thriller writers in the world. His novels have been translated into more than thirty languages and consistently hit the bestseller’s lists.

Best First Novel:
The Hypnotist Lars Kepler (Sarah Crichton Books)
Sister by Rosamund Lupton (Crown)
Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson (Harper)
The Boy in the Suitcase by Lene Kaaberbøl and Agnete Friis (Soho)
The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly (Pamela Dorman Books)

Best Novel
The Affair by Lee Child (Delacorte Press)
The Drop by Michael Connelly (Little, Brown and Company)
Buried Secrets by Joseph Finder (St Martin’s Press)
Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James (Knopf)
The Cut by George Pelecanos (Reagan Arthur Books)

Lifetime Achievement awards
Joseph Wambaugh
John Sandford

“This year’s awards are set for a tight finish, many of the judges were nearly unanimous in what they thought were their top ten books,” said Andrew F. Gulli, the managing editor of The Strand. “The second round of voting should be very interesting.”

The awards will be presented at an invitation-only cocktail party, hosted by The Strand on July 11, 2012, in New York City.